What each specialty actually earns

23 of 32 specialties have an ATO row (Taxation Statistics 2023-24, Table 15A, by nearest ANZSCO occupation code); Addiction medicine, Medical administration, Occupational and environmental medicine, Pain medicine, Palliative medicine, Public health medicine, Rehabilitation medicine, Sexual health medicine, Sport and exercise medicine have no discrete code.

ATO median taxable income by specialtyOtolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery (ENT): $539,017Otolaryngology Head & Neck…$539,017Neurosurgery: $537,049Neurosurgery$537,049Urology: $526,800Urology$526,800Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery: $525,793Plastic & Reconstructive Su…$525,793Vascular Surgery: $504,690Vascular Surgery$504,690Ophthalmology: $497,094Ophthalmology$497,094Anaesthetics: $457,287Anaesthetics$457,287Orthopaedic Surgery: $434,435Orthopaedic Surgery$434,435Clinical radiology: $430,250Clinical radiology$430,250Cardiothoracic Surgery: $425,275Cardiothoracic Surgery$425,275Obstetrics and gynaecology: $358,016Obstetrics and gynaecology$358,016Intensive Care Medicine: $354,688Intensive Care Medicine$354,688Radiation oncology: $347,443Radiation oncology$347,443Emergency Medicine: $344,198Emergency Medicine$344,198Paediatric emergency medicine: $344,198Paediatric emergency medici…$344,198General Surgery: $335,144General Surgery$335,144Paediatric Surgery: $328,980Paediatric Surgery$328,980Basic Physician Training (Adult Internal Medicine): $309,588Basic Physician Training (A…$309,588Psychiatry: $276,453Psychiatry$276,453Paediatrics (Basic Training in Paediatrics & Child Health): $263,420Paediatrics (Basic Training…$263,420Dermatology: $234,005Dermatology$234,005General practice and rural generalism: $156,733General practice and rural…$156,733Pathology: $81,090Pathology$81,090

ATO Taxation Statistics 2023-24, Table 15A; median of taxable income for the nearest ANZSCO code. Sorted by median.

The full table — mean, salary share, n, confidence, award and private ranges, sources
SpecialtyATO medianATO meanSalary sharenConfidenceAward and private rangesSources
Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery (ENT) $539,017 $631,559 34% 133 official Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.
more

Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.

Private: Not published. AdvanceMed (2022-23) computes ENT's salaried share at ~34% - highly private-dominated. Highest ATO median of the surgical codes. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions (rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment). Never describe an ATO figure as 'what surgeons are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers. Median < mean everywhere; the gap is the private-practice story. Grattan (2025): three-quarters of ENT specialists charge 2-3x the MBS schedule fee.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · advancemed.com.au
Neurosurgery $537,049 $678,611 38% 176 official Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.
more

Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.

Private: Not published. AdvanceMed (2022-23) computes neurosurgery's salaried share at ~41%. Highest mean taxable income of any ATO medical occupation code. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions (rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment). Never describe an ATO figure as 'what surgeons are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers. Median < mean everywhere; the gap is the private-practice story.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · advancemed.com.au
Urology $526,800 $586,462 35% 340 official Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.
more

Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.

Private: Not published. AdvanceMed (2022-23) computes urology's salaried share at ~40%. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions (rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment). Never describe an ATO figure as 'what surgeons are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers. Median < mean everywhere; the gap is the private-practice story.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · advancemed.com.au
Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery $525,793 $660,492 33% 352 official Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.
more

Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.

Private: Not published. AdvanceMed (2022-23) computes plastics' salaried share at ~35% - among the most private-dominated specialties. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions (rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment). Never describe an ATO figure as 'what surgeons are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers. Median < mean everywhere; the gap is the private-practice story. Registrar lore: a NSW PGY3 plastics reg on 0.7 public + 0.3 private assisting reported ~$200k versus RMO peers on $130-150k.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · advancemed.com.au · reddit.com
Vascular Surgery $504,690 $574,392 50% 146 official Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.
more

Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.

Private: Not published. Modelled only: ATO average salary/wage ($285,106) is ~50% of average taxable income - a more salaried mix than plastics/ENT. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions (rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment). Never describe an ATO figure as 'what surgeons are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers. Median < mean everywhere; the gap is the private-practice story.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · advancemed.com.au
Ophthalmology
253914
$497,094 $655,245 24% 618 official Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Only ~24% of ophthalmology income is salaried (AdvanceMed 2022-23: 26%) — the most private-dominated specialty in the table.
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Only ~24% of ophthalmology income is salaried (AdvanceMed 2022-23: 26%) — the most private-dominated specialty in the table.

Private: Modelled from ato_median minus ato_avg_salary_wage (~$340k gap): private-practice dominated; MABEL top-quartile ophthalmologists >=$456/hr. Label as modelled.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary — after rooms, staff, indemnity and equipment. Mean $655k vs median $497k is the private-practice tail. Not FTE-adjusted.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · advancemed.com.au · melbourneinstitute.unimelb.edu.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au
Anaesthetics
253211 Anaesthetist
$457,287 $475,455 57% 3,735 official Award: New staff specialist award base $197,583 (NSW Yr1) – $262,999 (VIC Yr1); NSW adds a 17.4% special allowance ($231,962 Yr1 → $313,390 Senior); QLD SMO L18 $223,136 base + 50% attraction & retention allowance; SA A&R allowance for anaesthetics is 50% of base (private practice cap 45%). Community mental model: public ≈ $75–100k of annual income per day of the week worked.
more

Award: New staff specialist award base $197,583 (NSW Yr1) – $262,999 (VIC Yr1); NSW adds a 17.4% special allowance ($231,962 Yr1 → $313,390 Senior); QLD SMO L18 $223,136 base + 50% attraction & retention allowance; SA A&R allowance for anaesthetics is 50% of base (private practice cap 45%). Community mental model: public ≈ $75–100k of annual income per day of the week worked.

Private: $400,000–1,200,000 (modelled from ATO median minus salary component plus anecdote; low confidence). Lore: WA private ≈ $200k per day-of-week worked; day billings $3–5k average, $6–10k lucrative; private FTE is 4 days, not 5.

Caveat: Taxable income ≠ billings and ≠ salary. ATO taxable income is after deductions (rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment); it is not FTE-adjusted and includes part-timers and late-year fellows. Lead with the median. Gender gap is large: anaesthetics mean $527,366 (M) vs $386,868 (F). Award figures are stamped to their instrument date; NSW rates are interim and under arbitration.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · aussieclinicians.com · sahealth.sa.gov.au
Orthopaedic Surgery $434,435 $554,839 41% 981 official Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.
more

Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.

Private: Not published. AdvanceMed (2022-23) computes orthopaedics' salaried share at ~43%, i.e. a private-dominated income mix. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions (rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment). Never describe an ATO figure as 'what surgeons are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers. Median < mean everywhere; the gap is the private-practice story. APRA: orthopaedics is the highest-gap specialty group for private hospital episodes ($807.42 average gap).

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · advancemed.com.au
Clinical radiology
253917
$430,250 $500,262 77% 2,525 official Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Radiology's $383,218 average salary/wage is by far the highest salaried component of any specialty (~77% salaried share). Lore: VIC public $500-600k on 4 days.
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Radiology's $383,218 average salary/wage is by far the highest salaried component of any specialty (~77% salaried share). Lore: VIC public $500-600k on 4 days.

Private: Modelled $600,000-$1,200,000 (income.md); lore: private $600k-$1m on 5 days, partner $1m-$1.6m, advertised starting rates $600-750k+ with $150k sign-on bonuses. Label as modelled/lore.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary. Gender gap is the largest in the table: male median $567,330 vs female $209,418. Not FTE-adjusted.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · aussieclinicians.com · advancemed.com.au
Cardiothoracic Surgery $425,275 $607,511 56% 143 official Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.
more

Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.

Private: Not published. AdvanceMed (2022-23) computes cardiothoracic's salaried share at ~60% - the most public/salaried of the surgical subspecialties, consistent with the ATO's $337,953 average salary/wage. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions (rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment). Never describe an ATO figure as 'what surgeons are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers. Median < mean everywhere; the gap is the private-practice story.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · advancemed.com.au
Obstetrics and gynaecology
253913
$358,016 $436,019 52% 1,448 official Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629; NT SMO1.1 $213,380 → SMO2.3 $298,705. Locum consultant O&G $2,500–3,500/day.
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629; NT SMO1.1 $213,380 → SMO2.3 $298,705. Locum consultant O&G $2,500–3,500/day.

Private: Modelled from ato_median minus ato_avg_salary_wage (~$130k gap) plus lore — no O&G-specific private billing data in the evidence; label as modelled.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary — ATO taxable income is after deductions; for a private specialist it is practice revenue minus rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment. Median is well below mean (private-practice tail). Figures are not FTE-adjusted.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · aussieclinicians.com · ocpe.nt.gov.au
Intensive Care Medicine
253317 Intensive care specialist
$354,688 $387,254 74% 740 official Award: New staff specialist award base $197,583 (NSW Yr1) – $262,999 (VIC Yr1); NSW adds a 17.4% special allowance ($231,962 Yr1 → $313,390 Senior); QLD SMO L18 $223,136 base + 50% attraction & retention allowance; SA A&R allowance for ICU is 50% of base with a 35% private practice cap. The high salary/wage share of taxable income (~74%) marks ICU as a largely salaried specialty.
more

Award: New staff specialist award base $197,583 (NSW Yr1) – $262,999 (VIC Yr1); NSW adds a 17.4% special allowance ($231,962 Yr1 → $313,390 Senior); QLD SMO L18 $223,136 base + 50% attraction & retention allowance; SA A&R allowance for ICU is 50% of base with a 35% private practice cap. The high salary/wage share of taxable income (~74%) marks ICU as a largely salaried specialty.

Caveat: Taxable income ≠ billings and ≠ salary; ATO figures are after deductions and not FTE-adjusted. income.md does not model an ICU private range — ICU private practice is limited (SA caps it at 35% of base), so none is given. Locum context only: recruiter guides quote ICU consultants at up to $3,000/day; one new intensivist reported ~$300,000 at 0.7–0.8 FTE as a FIFO regional locum (reddit anecdote). The consultant job market, not the rate, is the constraint.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · sahealth.sa.gov.au · ccjobs.com.au
Radiation oncology
253918
$347,443 $412,937 71% 614 official Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Lore: 'every rad onc staff specialist with 5 years' experience earns $500k+' (NSW).
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Lore: 'every rad onc staff specialist with 5 years' experience earns $500k+' (NSW).

Private: Modelled from ato_median minus ato_avg_salary_wage (~$50k gap) — largely salaried specialty; no rad-onc-specific private data in the evidence. Label as modelled.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary. Small n (614). Not FTE-adjusted.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · aussieclinicians.com
Emergency Medicine
253912 Emergency medicine specialist
$344,198 $347,306 85% 2,270 official Award: New staff specialist award base $197,583 (NSW Yr1) – $262,999 (VIC Yr1); NSW adds a 17.4% special allowance ($231,962 Yr1 → $313,390 Senior); QLD SMO L18 $223,136 base + 50% attraction & retention allowance; SA A&R allowance for EM, paeds EM and MedSTAR is 67% of base with a 0% private practice cap. Reddit: NSW ED physician, public, 1.0 FTE — $341k gross. Median ≈ mean here, which is what a salaried specialty looks like.
more

Award: New staff specialist award base $197,583 (NSW Yr1) – $262,999 (VIC Yr1); NSW adds a 17.4% special allowance ($231,962 Yr1 → $313,390 Senior); QLD SMO L18 $223,136 base + 50% attraction & retention allowance; SA A&R allowance for EM, paeds EM and MedSTAR is 67% of base with a 0% private practice cap. Reddit: NSW ED physician, public, 1.0 FTE — $341k gross. Median ≈ mean here, which is what a salaried specialty looks like.

Private: $0–150,000 (modelled; SA caps EM private practice at 0%). Locum FACEM shifts $2,500–3,500 (recruiter/anecdote) are the practical 'private' income.

Caveat: Taxable income ≠ billings and ≠ salary; ATO figures are after deductions and not FTE-adjusted — and fractional work (0.6–0.8 FTE) is the common FACEM survival strategy, which drags the median down. Shift penalties and on-call are a large share of EM income and are not visible in award base.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · sahealth.sa.gov.au · reddit.com
Paediatric emergency medicine
253912
$344,198 $347,306 85% 2,270 official Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); SA A&R allowance for EM and paeds EM is 67% of base with private practice capped at 0%; lore: NSW public ED physician 1.0 FTE $341k gross. During PEM training you are paid at registrar/top-of-reg rates even as a FACEM.
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); SA A&R allowance for EM and paeds EM is 67% of base with private practice capped at 0%; lore: NSW public ED physician 1.0 FTE $341k gross. During PEM training you are paid at registrar/top-of-reg rates even as a FACEM.

Private: Modelled $0-150,000 (income.md; SA caps EM private practice at 0%) — largely salaried specialty. 'There is no monetary advantage to PEM.'

Caveat: ATO figures are for the parent emergency medicine code, not PEM specifically. Taxable income is not billings. The PEM years themselves cost consultant-level wages.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · agd.sa.gov.au · reddit.com
General Surgery $335,144 $438,505 55% 1,900 official Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.
more

Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.

Private: Not published. Modelled only: ATO average salary/wage ($239,669) is ~55% of average taxable income, implying roughly $200k of non-salary (private) income at the mean. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions (rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment). Never describe an ATO figure as 'what surgeons are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers. Median < mean everywhere; the gap is the private-practice story. Registrar lore: a gen surg SET trainee reported being on track for $280-300k with 24h on-call every second weekend, against a $140-150k baseline; a PGY4 unaccredited subspecialty reg in NSW reported ~$180k gross on 70-80h weeks.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · advancemed.com.au · reddit.com
Paediatric Surgery $328,980 $386,014 72% 109 official Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.
more

Award: Public staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (1 Jul 2025), effective $231,962-$313,390 with the 17.4% Special Allowance; new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award, $232k-$313k with NSW/QLD loadings.

Private: Not published. Modelled only: ATO average salary/wage ($276,946) is ~72% of average taxable income - a predominantly public/salaried specialty with the lowest surgical median. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions (rooms, staff, indemnity, equipment). Never describe an ATO figure as 'what surgeons are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers. Median < mean everywhere; the gap is the private-practice story.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · advancemed.com.au
Basic Physician Training (Adult Internal Medicine) $309,588 $342,444 72% 2,012 official Award: Concord Network BPT post advertised at $110,986-$139,187 p.a. NSW award: Registrar Yr1 $117,745 to Yr4 $147,664, Senior Registrar $166,025 (1 Jul 2025). Staff specialist NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (+17.4% Special Allowance = $231,962-$313,390). Lore: med reg maxes ~$150-160k.
more

Award: Concord Network BPT post advertised at $110,986-$139,187 p.a. NSW award: Registrar Yr1 $117,745 to Yr4 $147,664, Senior Registrar $166,025 (1 Jul 2025). Staff specialist NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (+17.4% Special Allowance = $231,962-$313,390). Lore: med reg maxes ~$150-160k.

Private: Not published. Modelled only: general physician ATO average salary/wage ($247,181) is ~72% of average taxable income - a predominantly salaried specialty; the procedural subspecialties (cardiology, gastro) carry much larger private components. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions. Never describe an ATO figure as 'what physicians are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers. Median < mean everywhere. Subspecialty choice at AT moves the median by ~$200k (paediatrician $263k vs cardiologist $491k).

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · jobs.health.nsw.gov.au
Psychiatry
253411 Psychiatrist
$276,453 $305,282 73% 3,335 official Award: New staff specialist award base $197,583 (NSW Yr1) – $262,999 (VIC Yr1); NSW adds a 17.4% special allowance ($231,962 Yr1 → $313,390 Senior); QLD SMO L18 $223,136 base + 50% attraction & retention allowance. Reddit: VIC public $400–500k; QLD public psychiatrist staff specialist $360k excluding super; QLD psych registrar $200k purely public with rostered overtime.
more

Award: New staff specialist award base $197,583 (NSW Yr1) – $262,999 (VIC Yr1); NSW adds a 17.4% special allowance ($231,962 Yr1 → $313,390 Senior); QLD SMO L18 $223,136 base + 50% attraction & retention allowance. Reddit: VIC public $400–500k; QLD public psychiatrist staff specialist $360k excluding super; QLD psych registrar $200k purely public with rostered overtime.

Private: $350,000–900,000 (modelled from ATO median minus salary component plus anecdote; low confidence). Lore: private $350–600/hr ($2,800–4,800/day); telehealth clinics take only 10–20% of billings — the lowest overhead in medicine; $1m/yr requires ~$600/hr on a full 8-hour day with zero cancellations. A life-insurance broker's dissent: 'never insured a psychiatrist who generated fees greater than $500k'.

Caveat: Taxable income ≠ billings and ≠ salary; ATO figures are after deductions and not FTE-adjusted, and psychiatry has a large part-time cohort. Lead with the median. Psychiatry taxable income grew 61% 2010–11 → 2021–22 (CPI +27%), the fastest of any specialty group in the MJA analysis. Rural locum contracts quoted at '200–250k per day of the week worked' are unverified anecdote.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · mja.com.au · reddit.com
Paediatrics (Basic Training in Paediatrics & Child Health) $263,420 $286,020 81% 1,927 official Award: NSW award: Registrar Yr1 $117,745 to Yr4 $147,664, Senior Registrar $166,025 (1 Jul 2025). Staff specialist NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (+17.4% Special Allowance = $231,962-$313,390); new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award.
more

Award: NSW award: Registrar Yr1 $117,745 to Yr4 $147,664, Senior Registrar $166,025 (1 Jul 2025). Staff specialist NSW Yr1 $197,583 to Senior $266,942 (+17.4% Special Allowance = $231,962-$313,390); new consultants nationally $197k-$263k award.

Private: Not published. Modelled only: ATO average salary/wage ($231,397) is ~81% of average taxable income - one of the most salaried specialist codes; Grattan lists paediatrics 'extreme fee' initial consultations at $363. Low confidence.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary: ATO taxable income is after deductions. Never describe an ATO figure as 'what paediatricians are paid'. Figures are not FTE-adjusted and include part-timers (paediatrics has a large part-time workforce). Median < mean everywhere. Paediatrician median ($263k) is the second-lowest of the physician codes.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · grattan.edu.au
Dermatology
253911
$234,005 $330,967 31% 525 official Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Average salary/wage component only $101,765 — heavily private.
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Average salary/wage component only $101,765 — heavily private.

Private: Modelled from ato_median minus ato_avg_salary_wage (~$130k gap) plus the mean/median divergence; no derm-specific private billing data in the evidence. Label as modelled.

Caveat: Taxable income is not billings and not salary. Dermatology's mean $330,967 vs median $234,005 is the textbook private-practice gap; the gender split is $510,792 (M) vs $236,349 (F). Small n (525), not FTE-adjusted.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · aussieclinicians.com
General practice and rural generalism
253111
$156,733 $196,060 74% 27,776 official Award: GP registrars: NTCER 2025-26 minimums GPT1 $94,018, GPT2 $109,213, GPT3&4 $116,623 (+3.5% from 2026), or 44.79% of gross billings, whichever is higher; SEM posts on hospital award (QLD $130,000+). $30,000 first-community-term incentive from semester 1 2026. Rural generalists with anaesthetics/obstetrics AST earn hospital registrar rates.
more

Award: GP registrars: NTCER 2025-26 minimums GPT1 $94,018, GPT2 $109,213, GPT3&4 $116,623 (+3.5% from 2026), or 44.79% of gross billings, whichever is higher; SEM posts on hospital award (QLD $130,000+). $30,000 first-community-term incentive from semester 1 2026. Rural generalists with anaesthetics/obstetrics AST earn hospital registrar rates.

Private: Fellowed GP market norm 65-70% of billings or ~$150/hr (VR); average ~$345,000 for >=8 sessions/week, projected ~$398,448 under the tripled bulk-billing incentive; modelled $266k fully bulk-billing to $416k fully private at 40 hrs; rural WIP Doctor Stream $3,600-$48,000 by MMM. Label as modelled.

Caveat: ATO median (n=27,776) includes part-time GPs and registrars and is not FTE-adjusted. Taxable income is not billings: '$350k as a GP sole trader is closer to $262k salaried plus benefits'. Rural GP registrar on QLD MOCA plus 40% rural retention reported $376,000 on tax — lore, not typical.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · gpra.org.au · health.gov.au · cornerstonehealth.com.au
Pathology
253915
$81,090 $205,492 78% 2,749 official Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Lore: '3 day week in public is about $260k, more in private'; 'New grad salary around $330k' in private with 40-50 cases a day.
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Lore: '3 day week in public is about $260k, more in private'; 'New grad salary around $330k' in private with 40-50 cases a day.

Private: Sonic-group and other private labs; lore only ($330k new-grad claim). No modelled band — the ATO median is unusable for modelling.

Caveat: MEDIAN ARTEFACT: the ATO median of $81,090 against a $205,492 mean is the most extreme divergence in the table — almost certainly heavy part-time/registrar coding within occupation code 253915 rather than a true full-time figure. Do not present $81,090 as what pathologists earn. Taxable income is not billings and not salary.

data.gov.au · ato.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · aussieclinicians.com · reddit.com
Addiction medicine not published not published secondary Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. 'Pay is similar to other non-procedural specialties. Not super lucrative.'
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. 'Pay is similar to other non-procedural specialties. Not super lucrative.'

Private: Not evidenced; largely public/community service based.

Caveat: No addiction-specific ATO row — the 253399 mapping is an inference. Community pay descriptions only.

data.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · aussieclinicians.com · reddit.com
Medical administration not published not published secondary Award: Registrar posts on the medical award (VIC 12-month fixed term, 43 hrs/wk). Fellows: 'many DMS/EDMS I know are FRACMAs and the role itself tends to be on the higher end of the strict payscale'; NSW managerial allowances $27,405 / $47,961 / $68,514 on top of staff specialist rates ($197,583–$266,942 + 17.4%).
more

Award: Registrar posts on the medical award (VIC 12-month fixed term, 43 hrs/wk). Fellows: 'many DMS/EDMS I know are FRACMAs and the role itself tends to be on the higher end of the strict payscale'; NSW managerial allowances $27,405 / $47,961 / $68,514 on top of staff specialist rates ($197,583–$266,942 + 17.4%).

Private: 'Probably nowhere near as much as [procedural medicine] as you don't really get private practice gigs.' Board/governance roles 'all pay and it's treated like passive income'. No modelled band.

Caveat: No med-admin-specific ATO row. Not reliant on Medicare — named as government-proof by the community. Private-sector (Ramsay) reportedly underpays and overworks.

data.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · reddit.com · reddit.com
Occupational and environmental medicine not published not published lore Award: Mostly non-hospital employers. Secondary estimate ~$237k-$305k salaried plus medicolegal work; locum ~$140/hr appears in ads.
more

Award: Mostly non-hospital employers. Secondary estimate ~$237k-$305k salaried plus medicolegal work; locum ~$140/hr appears in ads.

Private: 'Well over 300K a yr is possible' for GPs in the space; IME work 'can be very lucrative' (lore). Not reliant on Medicare.

Caveat: No ATO row; salaried estimate is from a secondary source in the research report (URL not captured); community figures are self-reported.

reddit.com · reddit.com · data.gov.au
Pain medicine not published not published lore Award: 'Specialist award wages which is ~270-500k depending on what state you work in, seniority and VMO vs staff specialist contract' (pain specialist); NSW staff specialist Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance. Public posts are limited.
more

Award: 'Specialist award wages which is ~270-500k depending on what state you work in, seniority and VMO vs staff specialist contract' (pain specialist); NSW staff specialist Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance. Public posts are limited.

Private: 'Full time private interventionalists earn more'; 'Interventional pain is way bigger money than private anaesthesia' — but high overheads, poorly paid consulting days, group cuts, and reimbursement risk. No modelled band.

Caveat: No pain-specific ATO row; dual-fellowship income mixes parent-specialty and pain work. All figures are community lore.

reddit.com · reddit.com · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · data.gov.au
Palliative medicine not published not published secondary Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Lore: 'just under $200K' at 1.0 FTE one year in, +~$10k/yr for five years; non-procedural cap ~$250k per 1.0 FTE; 'capped in the high $300ks full-time public'; AT senior registrar $193k base + $16k CME + $4k (WA).
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Lore: 'just under $200K' at 1.0 FTE one year in, +~$10k/yr for five years; non-procedural cap ~$250k per 1.0 FTE; 'capped in the high $300ks full-time public'; AT senior registrar $193k base + $16k CME + $4k (WA).

Private: Locum $2,000-2,500/day; 'increasing private work available — mainly consult work in private hospitals'. No modelled band.

Caveat: No palliative-specific ATO row — the 253399 mapping is an inference. Community figures are self-reported. 1.0 FTE metro public posts are rare, so headline full-time figures overstate typical earnings.

data.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · aussieclinicians.com · reddit.com · reddit.com
Public health medicine not published not published secondary Award: Salaried government banding: NSW PHTP trainees on Crown Clerk Grade 9/10 (doctors); fellows roughly 'equivalent to a full time public hospital consultant' at best (NSW staff specialist Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance). 'Materially lower pay than clinical physician specialties'.
more

Award: Salaried government banding: NSW PHTP trainees on Crown Clerk Grade 9/10 (doctors); fellows roughly 'equivalent to a full time public hospital consultant' at best (NSW staff specialist Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance). 'Materially lower pay than clinical physician specialties'.

Private: Essentially none — 'Not much scope for private work'.

Caveat: No public-health-specific ATO row — the 253399/253999 mapping is an inference, not an official classification. Crown Clerk grades are not on the medical award; figures for those grades were not captured.

data.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · health.nsw.gov.au · reddit.com
Rehabilitation medicine not published not published secondary Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629; SA A&R allowance is specialty-differentiated — rehab 37.5% (vs 30% other consultants). Lore: consultant ~$300k ('don't quote me'); QLD PGY3 reg ~$60/hr.
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629; SA A&R allowance is specialty-differentiated — rehab 37.5% (vs 30% other consultants). Lore: consultant ~$300k ('don't quote me'); QLD PGY3 reg ~$60/hr.

Private: Heavily private inpatient sector (Epworth, Healthscope) but 'setting up independently isn't easy'; no modelled band in the evidence.

Caveat: No rehab-specific ATO row — the 253399 mapping is an inference, not an official classification. Taxable income is not billings and not salary. Community figures are self-reported.

data.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · aussieclinicians.com · agd.sa.gov.au · reddit.com
Sexual health medicine not published not published secondary Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Salaried public clinics; often part-time/portfolio.
more

Award: Staff specialist award: NSW Yr1 $197,583 → Senior $266,942 plus 17.4% Special Allowance ($231,962–$313,390); VIC HM33 $262,999 → HM41 $361,629. Salaried public clinics; often part-time/portfolio.

Private: Not evidenced.

Caveat: No sexual-health-specific ATO row — the 253399 mapping is an inference. No community pay figures found.

data.gov.au · www1.health.nsw.gov.au · aussieclinicians.com
Sport and exercise medicine not published not published lore Award: Effectively none: '~91% of SEM specialists work in the private sector'; the few STP-funded/AIS registrar posts pay ~$105-120k plus a billings share (community).
more

Award: Effectively none: '~91% of SEM specialists work in the private sector'; the few STP-funded/AIS registrar posts pay ~$105-120k plus a billings share (community).

Private: Registrar: 'less than a hospital registrar in your first year' to $200k+ with PRP work/team jobs (lore). Consultant: 'up to 500+' full-time interventional with own practice (lore); Group A4 Medicare status from July 2025 roughly doubled per-consultation schedule fees.

Caveat: No ATO row; all figures are self-reported community claims. Contractor income excludes leave and super. Team-doctor roles 'relatively well paid, but competitive'.

reddit.com · reddit.com · reddit.com · data.gov.au

Sources rank: government instrument (award, determination, ATO table) > ATO by occupation code > aggregator > recruiter > r/ausjdocs. "official" means the ATO row is for that specialty's own code; "secondary" means the nearest code is an inference; "lore" means only community claims exist. The FAQ on which state pays junior doctors the most has the award rates by grade; per-state resident and registrar pay grids are not loaded yet.

What doctors say they earn

r/ausjdocs — community view, not policy

22 first-person or quoted figures from the sub, verbatim, one per comment; anecdotes with a date and a grade, not a survey — no average is taken. The ATO chart above is the population number.

GP locum rates are between $1800-$3500 per day; over $320k gross fully private at 28-30 contact hours/wk per day
GP / GP locum · state not stated · 28 Apr 2026 · u/Jumpingjehosephat99 · comment ↗
~$80/hr for interns and ~$130-150/hr for RMO/regs per hour
internal locum (extra shifts) · VIC · 27 Jan 2026 · u/bnp1234 · one tertiary hospital's internal rate · comment ↗
Locum rates are down nationally
locum market · state not stated · 15 Jan 2026 · u/MDInvesting · trend claim, Jan 2026 · comment ↗
NP base $70.44/hr rising to $75.42; registrar pay tops out at $70.20/hr per hour
registrar vs nurse practitioner · NSW · 12 Nov 2025 · u/ax0r · 2025 comparison quoted by a radiologist · comment ↗
Reg pay maxing out at $139k per year
registrar (top of scale) · NSW · 14 Sept 2025 · u/DojaPat · base award, 2025 · comment ↗
around 250-280k per year
full-time private surgical assisting · state not stated · 30 July 2025 · u/scalpusjockey · 45-50 h/wk, ~8 half-list sessions/wk, no gap charged · comment ↗
Show all 22 reports
Max for me was 220K some overtime per year
registrar · state not stated · 17 July 2025 · u/Money_Low_7930 · no locum work · comment ↗
320k taxable (2nd year), 210k taxable (1st year) per year
GP registrar · state not stated · 17 July 2025 · u/Fooooky · ~10 h overtime in the 2nd-year figure; 1st year 38 h/wk · comment ↗
350k as a reg is possible, but it's the exception not the rule per year
registrar · state not stated · 17 July 2025 · u/Ambivalent28 · comment ↗
$2m per year
radiation oncologist · NSW · 1 July 2025 · u/Actual-Art-8150 · single unverified claim; far above the ATO distribution · comment ↗
$500k per year
rural GP registrar + hospital ED advanced skill training · state not stated · 1 July 2025 · u/Big-Possibility6394 · comment ↗
280k per year
GP · state not stated · 30 June 2025 · u/08duf · comment ↗
Afford a nice dinner in Sydney just once a year per year
joke reply · state not stated · 30 June 2025 · u/penguin262 · included as the sub's own commentary on the pay threads · comment ↗
about 230k per year
unaccredited registrar (rural ED) · state not stated · 30 June 2025 · u/adognow · rural ED unaccredited; total package not itemised · comment ↗
base ~200k + retention 50% of base + 50-100k allowances per year
public psychiatry consultant, year 1 · state not stated · 30 June 2025 · u/starminder · excludes overtime · comment ↗
base salary $232k; actual gross $450k per year
full-time public staff specialist · state not stated · 30 June 2025 · u/Mortui75 · poster says zero private work, second-lowest-paid jurisdiction · comment ↗
341k gross per year
emergency physician (consultant), 1.0 FTE · NSW · 30 June 2025 · u/Piratartz · comment ↗
PGY3 locums killing it at $150/hr while Reg's slave for $60-80 an hr per hour
PGY3 locum vs registrar · state not stated · 6 May 2025 · u/Scope_em_in_the_morn · comment ↗
Locum pays at $122/hr in the metro per hour
RMO/registrar locum · state not stated · 28 Jan 2025 · u/Excellent-Branch-996 · comment ↗
$2900/day for inpatient per day
psychiatrist locum · NSW · 25 Dec 2024 · u/Serrath1 · Jan 2026 contract, during the NSW psychiatry crisis · comment ↗
2500 -3500 per day per day
FACEM locum · state not stated · 23 Oct 2024 · u/T-Uki · comment ↗
$11k per week; FTE at QLD hospital would be about $350k plus $41k allowances per week
O&G consultant locum · QLD · 15 June 2024 · u/reallyhotgirlwhoshot · comment ↗